FIFA Ballon d’Or 2010: 100% Barca

Hi everyone,
One thing is for sure, the FIFA Ballon d’Or winner will stay in Cataluna for the second year in a row. Indeed, the nominees to the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2010 are Xavi, Iniesta and Messi.


On January 10, we will know who will be Messi’s successor. May be Messi himself? Who knows. But the trophy will stay within Guardiola’s team. It’s undisputable that Xavi, Iniesta and Messi are fantastic footballers and deserve to be nominated. But what is the point of breaking the election into two parts? Electing 3 players now and vote again for them a month later? Another top secret of FIFA’s voting I guess.


Xavi in a nutshell:
Spanish. 30 years old, 99 caps in national team, 8goals
Position: Midfield
2009-2010 record: World Cup winner, La Liga winner, Spanish Cup winner
2010-2011: Qualified for the UEFA Champions League round of 16
Ballon d’Or 2009 ranking: 3rd

Iniesta in a nutshell
Spanish, 26 years old, 54 caps in national team, 7 goals
Position: Midfield
2009-2010 record: World Cup winner, La Liga winner, Spanish Cup winner
2010-2011: Qualified for the UEFA Champions League round of 16
Ballon d’Or 2009 ranking: 4th

Messi in a nutshell
Argentine, 23 years old, 54 caps in national team, 15 goals
Position: Forward
2009-2010 record: La Liga winner, Spanish Cup winner, Top scorer UEFA Champions League, La Liga top scorer (34 goals)
2010-2011: Qualified for the UEFA Champions League round of 16
Ballon d’Or 2009 ranking: 1st

My take is Iniesta. He scored at the World Cup final and is a key player in Barcelona. Tough choice, but I think that Andres’ s goal against Holland in South Africa will make the difference. What’s your take?

Karl Lusbec


6 thoughts on “FIFA Ballon d’Or 2010: 100% Barca

  1. Hi Karl,
    I don’t know anything about football but my partner is passionate about football and so I would like to understand more- just to explain the following dumb question:
    What does it mean for a footballer to win the ballon d’or? Is it purely recognition of the players achievement in this year, or overall achievement, are other aspects taken into consideration and where does this award rank compared to others?
    By the way, thank you for keeping this blog. I find it incredibly informative and educational. Like a football encyclopedia that is “on the ball” 🙂 No pun intended.


  2. Hello Dina and welcome to the Football Lounge!
    Your partner is passionate about football? this is great, let him know about the blog, I’d be glad to pick his brain on a couple of football topics…

    Dina, you hit the nail on the head. The FIFA Ballon d’or is a recognition for a player’s achievement throughout the year that just went past. 2010 was a World Cup year for example, and it’s not surprising to see 2 spanish players (Xavi and Iniesta) at this stage as Spain won the World Cup in South Africa (I am sure your partner knows that :-))

    Many aspects are taken into consideration, but the good thing is the winner will be elected by his peers as football journalists, team captains and national coaches are voting.
    There were 2 awards until this year. The FIFA Player of the Year AND the France Football Ballon d’or. Both awards merged and become the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

    Thanks for the compliment on the blog. I try to bring content on a daily basis, and I am glad you enjoy it.

    I am working on a survey about Indian Football. Football is booming in this part of the world, and will publish an article about it in the next few days/weeks.

    Stay tuned!


  3. Hi Karl, thanks for the clarification. Just to make sure I understood correctly: So the nominees are chosen according to their performance but the winner is elected – therefore based on popularity rather than performance? He may have achieved marginally less than his fellow nominee but got more votes?

    Is this correct or are the nominees also elected through votes? Sorry once again for the dumb question!

    My feeling would be that the accomplishments of the nominees should be assessed by unbiased comittees to determine the true winner.

    Thanks for the very prompt reply!


  4. Hi Dina,
    There is no dumb question 🙂
    Yes the nominees are chosen or shortlisted according to their performance of the year. All of these nominees were confirmed after a poll in which the captains and head coaches of the men’s and women’s national teams as well as international media representatives selected by magazine France Football voted for candidates. The votes from each of the three groups counted for one-third to obtain the final result.

    The winner is elected by his peers; journalists, coaches and national team captains. The winner is voted for according to his performance.
    This is why I believe Iniesta will win as he won the World Cup with Spain, scored the only goal of the World Cup final, and is a key player in Barcelona.

    Iniesta, Xavi and Messi who made it to the last stage are with no doubts the best players at the moment, but in my opinion, players such as Eto’o, Sneijder or Drogba could have made it to the final stage.

    I hope I answered your questions. If not, please shout! 🙂


Comments are closed.