FIFA Ballon D’Or “D” Day

Hi guys,
Today at 7.55 CET the FIFA Ballon D’or will be crowned in Zurich. On the Football Lounge, you will know exactly what the FIFA Ballon d’or is and who the contenders are. 3 fantastic players to choose from is not easy. Here is my take.

My vote goes to Andres Iniesta.

The race is tight between the 3 Barca players. Whoever wins is a great player. It was not the case some years, not that long ago….Anyway, 2010 was a World Cup year, and as such, unfortunatly overules Messi. So the race, in my opinion, is between Xavi and Iniesta.

Xavi and Iniesta are key players for their club and also for their national team. They are both great players to watch, with an unmatched football intelligence. I remember some discussions when a french coach 5 years ago who was telling me that a midfielder must be tall, strong, robust. One of the funniest BS football comment I’ve ever heard, and Xavi and Iniesta are the living proof. I will not bring shame to this coach by giving his name out……How nice!



In my opinion, the only criteria that would make the difference is Iniesta’s goal at the 2010 World Cup final. Scoring the only goal of the final may have granted the Spaniard with the Ballon d’or. This is to me the only element which will play in favour of Iniesta. Other than that, I would give them both the award. At that level, details count at that level. A detail Iniesta put in the back of the net on July 11, 2010.

Don’t forget to cast your vote!

Karl Lusbec

